The resources listed below are grouped by their source and include resources from government agencies as well as a few other free resources.

Food and Drug Administration | FDA.gov

• FDA Drugs| This is the portal to information from the FDA relating to their regulatory
  activity concerning pharmaceutical products including news on shortages,
  recalls, and new approvals. There are also reference tools providing
  information on FDA approved drugs.
• Drugs@FDA | A searchable druginformation tool that provide information on a drug's regulatory history
  including its approval history, label information, and medication guides based on approved label information.
• Drug Approvals and Databases | A list of links to various drug related databases offered by
  the FDA.
• The Green Book | Animal Drugs | Similar to the orange book, but for veterinary drugs, the
  Green Book had seven major sections: trade names and sponsors, active
  ingredients, patent information, exclusivity periods, notice of hearing,
  voluntary withdrawals, and suitability petition actions. Searchable by a
  variety of properties, there are drop down lists that may be browsed under the
  search boxes for sponsor, ingredients, proprietary name, dosage form, route,
  and species.
• The Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations | A
  searchable listing of approved drug products including generics with their
  equivalence ratings displayed, the Orange Book is comprehensive in listing
  every FDA approved drug on the market. The Orange Book data files are updated on a monthly basis.
• Adverse Event Reporting System | The FDA's official tool for reporting adverse drug
  events as well, as viewing statistics and data relating to adverse drug events.
• MAUDE | manufacturer and User Facility Device Experience | MAUDE is an adverse
  events database that covers incidents involving medical devices regulated by
  the FDA.
• VAERS | Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System | A joint project of the FDA and the CDC, VAERS is
  the tool for reporting adverse events related to vaccines. 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention| CDC.gov

• Main Site | CDC.gov | The CDC site offers information on a variety of topics ranging from disease states,
  to life stages, to bioterrorism.
• Traveler's health and the Yellow Book | The CDC travel site is the hub for information provided by
  the CDC related to travel medicine and includes a number of resources. Of special note is the Yellow Book. The Yellow Book is a guide produced by the CDC and directed to health professionals featuring information on destinations, recommended vaccinations, ways to stay healthy abroad, notices, and news and announcements related to topic involving traveler's health.
• WONDER | A rich web based query system for interacting with a collection of databases containing public health information. WONDER requires no software other than a web browser to access these datasets which are often provided in a rather raw format.

National Library of Medicine | NLM.NIH.gov

• DailyMed | This resource provides FDA labels and other information on marketed drugs including a pill identification tool.
• Drug Information Portal | This tool brings together information from a variety of resources and
  provides quick access to information on a drug from the many National Library
  of Medicine databases including MedLinePlus, PubMed, TOXLINE, and more.
• Medline/PubMed | PubMed is a free front end for the Medline database. While MU and UMKC offer Medline access through the subscription product Ovid, PubMed as a free tool will remain available to you after graduation. You can create an account to use with PubMed that allows you to save searches, preferences, and customize your PubMed experience in other ways as well.
• MedlinePlus | A consumer oriented health information portal curated by the National Library of Medicine. MedlinePlus also includes videos and interactive features oriented to consumer health education.
• Mobile Gallery | Mentioned in the mobile part of this guide, this gallery display the mobile tools offered by the National Library of Medicine.
• PubChem | This tool provided by the National Library of Medicine allows for searching molecule by their structure or formula and features an editor for inputting chemical structures graphically. PubChem's scope of coverage includes small organic molecules it offers information including biological assays and links to PubMed.
• PubMed Central | A public access repository that contains scholarly articles, PubMed Central contains many articles that may be found through a Medline search. Articles in PubMed Central may also be found by browsing through journals included. Not all journals in PubMed Central are complete, many only submit articles they are required due to NIH grants contributing to the research funding. Many articles will not be available until sometime after their publication, during which they may not be accessed for free.
• TOXNET | A tool that searches several databases related to environmental health and toxicology. There is some overlap in resources covered by PubMed and TOXNET, but some resources are only included in searches of one or the other. TOXNET includes monographs on some substances which are not drug products from the
  Hazardous Substances Databank.

Other Resources

• Institute for Safe Medication Practices | A patient safety organization, the Institute for Safe Medication Practices offers a number of <a
  tools and resources related to facilitating safe drug therapy. </a
• National Guideline Clearinghouse – Guidelines.gov | A resource from the Agency for Healthcare Research and
  Quality, the National Guidelines clearinghouse is a repository for evidence based clinical practice guidelines. Guidelines included in the clearinghouse are all less than five years old and the latest revision approved for inclusion. See the inclusion criteria for more details.

Return to Electronic Resource Access: A guide for students of the UMKC School of Pharmacy at MU